Top News

Senator Yaqoob Khan Nasir becomes new PML-N president

LAHORE: Former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif  chose Senator Sardar Mohammad Yaqoob Khan Nasir to become  president of Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N), informed sources privy to the development.

The party’s central working committee will meet in Islamabad on Thursday to give formal approval of his appointment.

According to reports, Nawaz discussed Nasir’s interim presidency with the senior party leadership at his residence on Wednesday and is said to have received no serious resistance to the proposal.

Earlier on August 8, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) notified PML-N that with the disqualification of Nawaz Sharif, the party must elect its new president as according to the Political Parties Order (2002), a disqualified person cannot hold the key party position.

Nasir, who currently serves as the party’s senior vice president, was elected senator in 2015 after party stalwart Iqbal Zafar Jhagra became governor of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

About the author

Azhar Hashmi

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *