Top News

Kulsoom Nawaz emerge victor in NA-120 by-election: unofficial results

LAHORE: The Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) extended its lead against the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf as counting of votes continued in the closely contested by-elections in Nawaz Sharif’s former constituency NA-120.

According to the unverified and unofficial results being shared by media outlets, Kulsoom Nawaz is in the lead in a tally from 211 out of 220 polling stations.

 PTI’s Dr. Yasmin Rashid thanked her supporters and the people of NA-120 for coming out to vote and said the future course of action would be announced in a press conference on Monday.

“We have reservations against the Election Commission and will approach the court against them,” Rashid emphasized.

While speaking to reporters in London, Nawaz Sharif said that his daughter, Maryam Nawaz, led a good campaign in NA-120. “The people of the constituency were very responsive [toward PML-N],” the former prime minister said, refusing to comment further on the election.

Earlier, Railways Minister Khawaja Saad Rafique called for an extension in polling time, claiming a number of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) voters are present outside polling stations and not being let into cast their vote.

The PML-N cited high security, traffic and Sunday being a holiday as reasons for many people not being able to cast their votes on time.

However, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) urged the authorities not to extend the polling time.

Over 321,786 voters registered in Lahore’s densely populated constituency voted to elect their representative to the National Assembly. There were 44 candidates in the run for the seat but the real contest was evidently between PTI’s Dr Yasmeen Rashid and PML-N’s Kulsoom Nawaz.

Voters were expected to turn up in good numbers at the polling stations in view of the intense mobilisation campaign by the prominent candidates.

The official results of the by-election will be released later by the Election Commission of Pakistan.

The NA-120 seat had fallen vacant after the Supreme Court disqualified former prime minister Nawaz Sharif in the Panama Papers verdict.