PCB has decided to extend Arthur’s contract till World Cup 2019

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has decided to extend men’s cricket team coach Mickey Arthur’s contract till World Cup 2019.

PCB is reportedly satisfied with Arthur’s performance, saying a young side under him recently won the Champions Trophy for the first time ever for Pakistan. He had initially been contacted in May 2016 to serve for up to two years.

Sources said Arthur wants the contracts of the rest of coaching staff to be extended as well so that the team can prepare for the World Cup under the same combination.

Batting coach Grant Flower has been with the side since 2014 while bowling coach Azhar Mahmood and fielding coach Steve Rixon were appointed soon after Arthur’s appointment.

According to the PCB official, Arthur can prove Pakistan’s best coaching option for the World Cup following the Champions Trophy victory.

The ICC Cricket World Cup is scheduled to be held in England and Wales from May to July 2019.

PCB announced the squad for ODIs against Sri Lanka

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Friday announced the squad for One Day Internationals (ODIs) against Sri Lanka beginning on October 13.

“The Champions Trophy team has been retained except Azhar Ali, who has been rested for the ODI series to gain full fitness,” Chief Selector Inzamam-ul-Haq said.

The young left-handed batsmen Imam-ul-Haq, who is also Inzamam’s nephew, has made it to the squad. Imam-ul-Haq has been selected in the squad because of “his performance in the domestic circuit and to give a chance to a youngster in the home conditions.”

Imam averages 36 in List A cricket and has made three centuries this year for Habib Bank and Pakistan under-23 side.

Pakistan lost their first test match against Sri Lanka while the second and last – a day-night match begins in the evening today.

ODI Squad: Ahmed Shehzad, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (C)(Wk), Imad Wasim, Shahdab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Mohammed Amir, Ruman Raees, Junaid Khan, Haris Sohail and Imam-ul-Haq.