Australia removed Alastair Cook cheaply in his 150th test

PERTH (Monitoring Desk): Australia removed Alastair Cook cheaply in his 150th test and grabbed a second wicket late in the first session on Thursday as England moved to 91 for two at lunch on the opening day of the third Ashes test.

England captain Joe Root put his side in to bat after winning his third toss of the series, with day one at the WACA overshadowed by match-fixing allegations in a British newspaper.

England opener Mark Stoneman was 48 not out and Root on one at the break on a glorious day in Perth.

Cook´s milestone test started sourly, the 32-year-old lasting just 16 balls before being trapped lbw by paceman Mitchell Starc.

Stoneman and number three James Vince put on a valuable 63-run partnership before Australia quick Josh Hazlewood had Vince caught behind for 25 late in the session.

Stoneman rode his luck through several short balls that had him fending away in the air just short of fielders but survived to keep the score ticking along at a brisk rate by striking eight boundaries through the WACA´s lightning fast outfield.

The opener saw his second broken bat of the series with the 16th ball he faced in the innings, a Starc missile doing the damage.

Starc kept banging in short balls and the bounce of the WACA pitch beat Stoneman and a leaping wicketkeeper Tim Paine to give England four byes and their 50th run.

Starc sent a second ball flying for four byes over the head of Vince to raise jeers from England fans in a packed crowd.

Hazlewood ended Australia´s frustrations with the stubborn second-wicket stand, teasing Vince into a cover drive away from his body that will only further cement the England number three´s reputation for squandering starts.

Australia, who recalled all-rounder Mitchell Marsh at the expense of middle order batsman Peter Handscomb, lead the five-match series 2-0 and can win back the coveted urn with victory at the WACA.

England were unchanged from the side that lost the second test in Adelaide but tweaked their batting order, with wicketkeeper Jonny Bairstow promoted to number six and all-rounder Moeen Ali dropping to seven.